Madam Geek…

Finding the geek in every woman

Woman of the Week: Jackie Biggs October 25, 2010

Filed under: She's the Geek,Women — madamgeek @ 11:12 am


Jackie tell our readers a little about yourself and what you do?

My name is Jackie Biggs and I am a 43 year old mother of 2 daughters. I am married for 24 years to a wonderful man. I am a home executive and I love being hands-on and involved in the lives of my family. I am the type of person who loves being of help to whoever is in need of my assistance.

Has technology changed your life in any way?

I started becoming interested in social media when my eldest daughter introduced me to face book that was the time I was down with a broken ankle and not much to do. I then started browsing other sites. Technology changed my life whereby I started connecting with friends from school and even family members whom I very seldom see.

Take us through a typical day in your life

Being alone at home every day I have lots of time to do whatever I wish to do. So first thing in the morning when everybody has left, I go on Face book to update my status and read through the statuses of my friends. I also browse through the other sites I’m connected to. Once I’m done with whatever I need to do in the house, I will go onto Face book and read through.

What are your current projects?

My current project is to finish my Mom3.0 classes and graduate.

Why do you Blog?

I blog because I can share my experiences with the rest of the world. I can put my thoughts in a blog. Writing is sometimes better than talking.

What is the best gadget you ever played with?

Not many, a Laptop but I wish I had gadgets to play with so that I can explore all the options available to me.

What social media tools do you use?

A computer and my cell phone.

How many hours do you spend on the Internet?

Not more than 4 hours a day. I limit myself because I have a family.

What advice would you give to a newbie starting out?

They must be interested in technology. It is a learning process and fun at the same time. They must not feel intimidated by those who are pro’s because they are there to assist us.

What are your top 5 favourite websites?

Face book, Twitter, Blue world, You Tube, Blogger and I love to Google. I just discovered Skype which I think is so cool.

Where do you look when you need a little inspiration?

At the blog posts of ordinary people in the community. People with day to day experiences and using modern technology to share them with the rest of the world.

So what can we expect from you in 2010 and beyond?

Not sure yet but I would want to learn whatever I can concerning technology. I would like to have my own website one day. The world is my oyster!

Connect with Jackie on Twitter: @JackiemBiggs and Blog: Mom3.0

Source: She’s the Geek

 

Leave a Reply

