Madam Geek…

Finding the geek in every woman

Who are you playing with? October 10, 2010

Filed under: Gadget,Madam Geek — madamgeek @ 9:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I read loads of articles on “women in tech” and they all seem to go around women either whining about how we don’t get enough scope or recognition from men. Funnily enough most of the writers are male. But fortunately for me, the women I find myself surrounded by do not see themselves at the bottom of the ‘tech space food chain’ but at the top of their game! Meaning there is no need to prove themselves to anyone or to fight with men for recognition, but to just enjoy technology and the beautiful journey of discovering amazing and new things everyday and how it can be used to not only make our live easier but to make a difference in someones life or to help impact an entire community.

Well for the first time in my life I actually love gadgets! A mobile phone was obviously my first gadget. It was acquired more out of necessity than out of curiosity or love. But once I got used to it, it became a fashion accessary and I remember buying covers for my Nokia 5110 to match all my outfits. Now you know how old I am (not sure how many of you remember that long back in the mobile phone era). This was in the late 90’s when you were a trend setter by the mobile device you had. Now I think you a trend setter by how you use the gadgets you have. Maybe its my unconventional thinking or just crazy notions I have now and then, but in this day and age in 2010 we cannot choose to let gadgets we possess to dictate our status! Whether you trendy or not does not depend on what make, model and year you have. Come on technology is advancing with or without us as players in the field, but what we do with what we have or have access to I think sets us apart and gives us all the status we crave and most importantly who you take to join you in the playing field as an equal player.

 

2 Responses to “Who are you playing with?”

  1. veera Says:

    Hi,

    I am definitely wanting to play rather than whine about not playing 😉

    On a serious note the gender issues are not very easy. We still need some advocacy and shout out for the ladies working in the technology industry in a way that is not associated with whining or politely asking for our space. I do think that we also need to start girlyfying the gadgets. I want my pc to be small and pretty.

    • madamgeek Says:

      I agree with you on all accounts and especially girlyfying gadgets. I do love strawberry flavours. With women like yourselves making inroads in technology I think we on the right track.


Leave a Reply

